Focal Point

Light Photography for the mind…….

Till the end of this month the gallery in the Omani Fine Art Society in Salalah hosts “Glowing Spectra 2014,”a photographical exhibition full of various light techniques and with lots of contrasted ideas. Walking through 50 pictures in black and white and in color, made by 37 photographers, all members of the Oman Photography Society, is walking trough minds and reading the language they used to express themselves in their themes captured by the lenses of their cameras.

Mostly the theme is clear for the eye of the visitor, sometimes they appeal on your imagination. In this case communication between the visitor’s eye and the eye of the photographer becomes a game of guessing or of own interpretation. I went through the exhibition and was happily surprised by the works were imagination was involved. This is my little overview of an exhibition worthwhile to visit from 8am till 8pm in the gallery in the KFC building.

Yousif Abdullah Al-Balushi My imagination: light footed playing the game

Yousif Abdullah Al-Balushi
My imagination: light footed playing the game

Basma Ahmed Al-Wahaibi My imagination: In both ways looking up to the sky...

Basma Ahmed Al-Wahaibi
My imagination: In both ways looking up to the sky…

Rashad Mansoor Al (AFIAP) My imagination: I wish I could fly within the sky

Rashad Mansoor Al-Wahaibi (AFIAP)
My imagination: I wish I could fly within the sky

Fatma Hamdan Al-Balushi My imagination: a matter of gender...

Fatma Hamdan Al-Balushi
My imagination: a matter of gender…

Dalia Mohammed Al-Bassami My imagination: locking up secrets....

Dalia Mohammed Al-Bassami
My imagination: locking up secrets….

Hawra Salim Al-Fahda (AFIAP) My imagination: preparing for a 'light' dream....

Hawra Salim Al-Fahdi (AFIAP)
My imagination: preparing for a ‘light’ dream….

 

Leave a Reply

