Art-sights

Textures for the eyes

Till 11th December, 47 digital paintings from the Egyptian Magdi B. El-Din are exhibited in the Omani Society for Fine Art in Salalah.

DSCN9216 (450x368)

Main theme in the exposition is the car. “The form of this vehicle fascinates me. I like to add colours to the forms. With brushstrokes I emphasize the shapes. The works become a texture for the eye. First I am excited about the things I draw or paint. Then I want to share this with the public. That’s why I expose the works. My drawing and painting career started in 1970. Then I joined the Faculty of Fine Arts in Alexandria in Egypt. In 2005 I came to Oman. Till now I work as Assistant Professor Graphic design & IA Department at the Dhofar University in Salalah. I encourage the students to experiment within their works. They have to feel the essence of trial and error. It is my fifth exposition in Oman. But also in Italy, in Egypt, in Tunisia, in Kuwait, in the Emirates and in Germany my works were on display.” The more I walked through the exposition the more the works became little stories on their own. Sometimes the paintings captured in two dimensional canvas gives the illusion of three dimensions. The texture and the colours became alive. I choose three works out of the 47. One of the three works was also the most favorite work of the artist himself.

“With the combination of an underdrawing ( in this painting the sketch of a watch) and the painted car in oil on paper I refer to masters like Cézanne and Picasso. In this work the underdrawing remains visible.”

“With the combination of an underdrawing ( in this painting the sketch of a watch) and the painted car in oil on paper I refer to masters like Cézanne and Picasso. In this work the underdrawing remains visible.”

“The main figure was the man. Then I find the white space above him too much. So I add more colours and I repeated the forms above the figure. The dates are for archiving. The M of Magdi is not a signature but a part of the work.”

“The main figure was the man. Then I find the white space above him too much. So I add more colours and I repeated the forms above the figure. The dates are for archiving. The M of Magdi is not a signature but a part of the work.”

“In this work I feel that I am relatively in control of the notion why I had to stop. When you overwork you can get lost in your work. The moment you take a distance from your work you let it go on its own. The decision to stop has to be taken during the making of...This work is my favourite.”

“In this work I feel that I am relatively in control of the notion why I had to stop. When you overwork you can get lost in your work. The moment you take a distance from your work you let it go on its own. The decision to stop has to be taken during the making of…This work is my favourite.”

“Textures for the eyes, digital paintings of Magdi B. El-Din till the 11th of December in the Gallery of the Omani Fine Art Society Salalah, in the building of KFC. Monday through Thursday 8.30am till 13.00pm and 17.00pm till 20.00pm.

DSCN9219 (450x338) DSCN9236 (450x338)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

