Focal Point

Permanent residence

From today the temporary exposition of the Omani Craft Industries closed the doors. At the same time the objects were given a permanent place in the Suq from the Salalah Gardens Mall. Five windows give the potential buyer an overview of the Omani traditional handicraft with accent on the Dhofar Craft industries. The objects can be purchased in the shop opposite the windows or on the e-commerce website.

DSCN9637 (450x338)

Graphic designer Shaimaa Hafid Baalwi of the marketing department of PACI in Dhofar, shaped the shop windows in one month. “It was a real challenge. From 2011, I was involved in handicraft in Dhofar. But designing the exhibition and the windows was very new for me. My contribution in the marketing department started three months ago. Luckily encouraged by Abdullah Halil Al-Daoudi, the head of the department, I was able to visit the handicraft centres in Dhofar. So I could see and feel how the products, we choose to put on display, were made. That was very important for me. I could even give new ideas to the women who are involved in the making of the objects. For example when I visited the Land of  Frankincense Museum at Al Baleed, details in historical objects took my attention. I translated them with the women in their handicraft. In two key hangers in camel bone we used contemporary forms decorated with historical details.”

copyr. PACI

copyr. PACI

copyr. PACI

copyr. PACI

copyr. PACI

copyr. PACI

copyr. PACI

copyr. PACI

“For the design of the windows I used details from the traditional architecture and traditional objects in Dhofar. The stylisation of the details gave the showcases a more contemporary feeling. Giving traditional designs a more modern look is the goal we try to achieve.”

copyr. PACI

copyr. PACI

DSCN9634 (640x266)

copyr. PACI

copyr. PACI

DSCN9627 (338x450)Incense  (640x325)DSCN9631 (342x450)) (570x640) (401x450)

My favorite window

My favorite window

Leave a Reply

