Art-sights

Art of the Imagination

DSCN2346 (540x405)

Several times during workshops, I met Khalid Al Rawas. Every time his ideas and stories    fascinated me. During the workshop of Arabic calligraphy in the Omani Society for Fine Arts in Salalah-Dhofar, we started to talk. The next day he brought me three works. The works were an invitation to walk inside his mind into his imagination.

“Sometimes I try to tell stories, sometimes I express my feelings. When the idea or the story is in my head, I immediately start to make drawings or to paint with oils. If necessary I can also use mixed media. Sometimes I couple technical skills with my imagination, sometimes I don’t. I even don’t look at rules of perspective. As a child I was fascinated by cartoons and by Anima the Japanese manga series. In this series I was especially fascinated by the eyes of the personages. Still in my works I like to accentuate eyes. Kahlid Al Rawas is convinced that there will be an interest for his works in galleries. Last year he participated with one work in a group exhibition of the Omani Society for Fine Arts.

“Wearing a mask can be an advantage."

“Wearing a mask can be an advantage.”

"This mask express emotions of happiness to other people, in the meanwhile it can hide your real emotions.....”

“This mask express emotions of happiness to other people, in the meanwhile it can hide your real emotions…..”

“Sometimes I feel lonely."

“Sometimes I feel lonely.”

Sometimes I like to retry myself to reflect. Space and nature helps me to do so.  I am like the little man on the tree. Perhaps this is my self-portrait. "

Sometimes I like to retry myself to reflect. Space and nature helps me to do so.  I am like the little man on the tree. Perhaps this is my self-portrait. “

“This painting is all about taking care for the beauty of nature, symbolized by the prince on the horse and watched through the eye of his mother. The colors of the horse are connected with the flag of Oman. Green is for the trees, red is for the flowers and white is for the sky. inside the story, another story is integrated it has to do with freedom, Something we all have to take care of....”

“This painting is all about taking care for the beauty of nature, symbolized by the prince on the horse and watched through the eye of his mother. The colors of the horse are connected with the flag of Oman. Green is for the trees, red is for the flowers and white is for the sky. Inside the story, another story is integrated it has to do with freedom, Something we all have to take care of….”

Leave a Reply

